Home Iconic bar REVIEW: The Horror Icons Bar serves sparkling drinks, skull keepsake mugs, and...

REVIEW: The Horror Icons Bar serves sparkling drinks, skull keepsake mugs, and Halloween Horror Nights decor at Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort

2
0

Happy Halloween from Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort! If you’re looking for a way to enjoy a bit of HHN outside of the park, Cabana Bay has the Jack’d Up Experience and the horror icon bar. Swizzle Lounge got an overlay and morphed into the Horror Icons Bar for the Halloween season with a spooky menu full of spooky cocktails. We were just dying to try all these new drinks so we headed over to Cabana Bay to haunt the Horror Icons Bar for the weekend.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-36-4083276
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-19-5974291
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-37-3192670

The Swizzle Lounge is the lobby bar at Universal’s Cabana Bay Beach Resort. The fun, retro vibe here is one of the main reasons we keep coming back. Now the icons have gone wild and taken over this 1960s-style bar with Halloween Horror Nights banners, costumes and props on display.

universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-8-7221153
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-5-1065010
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-5-2008732
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-30-1999833
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-6-9013432
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-10-6087440

A few small displays along the bar pay homage to some of our favorite icons.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-19-3744809
Universal-cabana-bay-icons-bar-displays-review4-5-1413685
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-18-8267594
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-11-1092246
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-16-9107447
universal-drinks-review-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-13-9948765
Universal-cabana-bay-icons-bar-displays-review4-3-6445405
Universal-cabana-bay-icons-bar-displays-review4-2-2072863

Two display cases are set up in the bar with costumes and accessories for the concierge, manager, storyteller, etc.

Universal-cabana-bay-icons-bar-displays-review4-4-4651636
universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-23-3336638

Icon banners hang behind the bar and just above the seating area.

universal-review-drinks-swizzle-horror-icons-bar-cabana-bay-pt3-12-2457809

Instead of pre-mixed drinks like ghoul juice and Bog jelly inside the park, the Horror Icons Bar will prepare a cold drink just for you. The menu offers a few iconic drinks as well as a variety of other themed drinks. They even put a Halloween twist on the names of some of their Swizzle classics. You can get any of the drinks served in a spooky skull mug for an additional $ 3.50. Read on to find out which of these drinks are scary and which will give you nightmares.

HHN Icons

Jack’d Up – $ 12.78

Jack Daniels Whiskey & Lime Coke

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-4-9020617
uni-review-swizzle-hhn-drinks-cocktails-cabana-bay-p2-4-5861057

This drink was simple and basic, but better than the Jack’s Place Whiskey and Coke in the Park. It’s a classic, just like Jack.

Luck – $ 12.78

Bacardi Superior Rum, Aperol, Orange Bitters & Orange Soda

swizzle-lounge-hhn-chance-drink-horror-icons-6895734

The Chance was a rum before with a hint of citrus flavor. It was good and strong, but not particularly well balanced. We always suggest you try your luck on this one, if you dare.

The Director – $ 12.78

Ketel One Vodka, Kahlua, Amaretto & Cream

swizzle-lounge-hhn-director-drink-horror-icons-bar-review-2021-1889032

The rather psychotic Paulo Ravinski, aka The Director, serves as the inspiration for this next cocktail. His character is both brutal and iconic from Halloween Horror Nights. However, the flavor of his cocktail drops slowly.

director-hhn-drink-swizzle2-2333724

The heavy cream makes this drink deliciously delicious and easy to drink. Some may want to avoid ordering a double, as the regular drink will likely be enough to relax you.

Spooky cocktails

Anti-Vampires – $ 14.85

Absolute Vodka, House Bloody Mary Mix, FL Man’s Lunacy Roasted Garlic Hot Sauce Pearls

uni-review-swizzle-hhn-drinks-cocktails-cabana-bay-p2-1-9853296
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-1-4244395

Vampire Repellent is aptly named as it will certainly ward off all vampires, and maybe your friends, so be careful! We visited the bar two days in a row and both days they didn’t have the garlic scoops so we might have to grab a wooden stake for the road just in case. Even without the garlic scoops, it’s a spicy, garlic-rich drink, but we loved it. We even considered ordering a second one. Fans of spicy Bloody Marys shouldn’t miss this one.

Black Magic – $ 12.78

360 Vanilla Vodka, Grand Marnier, Fanta Orange, Edible black flakes

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-63-2499043

This drink comes with a bit of a show as it gets mixed for you and changes color from orange to black. That’s why they call it Black Magic.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-65-7761259

Look at those glitter!

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-70-4751945

We were expecting something like an ice cream taste, but we really couldn’t decipher what we tasted on the first sip. The Grand Marnier is strong but the vanilla vodka starts to stand out more the more you keep drinking. It wasn’t something we would come back for, but it was drinkable and did the job. The color change effect and edible sprinkles do give this drink some bonus points, however. These edible sprinkles really shine like magic!

The Temptress – $ 13.32

Tequila Tanteo Habanero, homemade cucumber juice, agave nectar, fresh lime juice with a lime wedge sprinkled with Tajin

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-54-3108919

We absolutely hated the Pass Holders Appreciation Kickin ‘Berry Drink from Swizzle Lounge, so we were a little nervous reading that it incorporated the same tequila. It might not be our favorite drink on the menu, but it was way better than the Kickin ‘Berry.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-61-4561620

Perhaps this temptress’s appeal is the spicy taste of the pickle juice. It’s weird and unusual, but it’s not a bad thing. If you like pickled jalapenos or sip pickle juice, this drink will satisfy all your cravings. Proceed with caution.

The Crusher – $ 12.78

Deep Eddy Ruby Red Vodka, Barrow’s Intense Ginger Liqueur, Grapefruit Juice, Agave Nectar, Lime, Edible Black Flakes

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-20-6185349
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-16-6707269

The Grinder was slightly sore and was one of the only drinks we couldn’t drink. The grapefruit taste was too strong and the drink was just slightly bitter. It was the least favorite of all the drinks on the menu. This cocktail also contains edible black sprinkles, but if you are looking for a sparkling drink, we suggest you go for the Black Magic instead.

Skeleton Key – $ 13.32

Maker’s Mark Whiskey, St. Germain Elderflower Liqueur, Agave Nectar, Fresh Lemon Juice, Q Ginger Beer, Angostura Aromatic Bitters

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-14-5175134
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-7-8426625

Lemon and elderflower are the most notable flavors with Skeleton Key. The lemon was just a little too strong and too potent, which made this drink difficult to pass.

Creature of the Night – $ 13.32

Waterloo Antique Gin, Bittermens Burlesque Bitters, Fresh FL Orange, Monin Blackberry Syrup, Sugar Cube, & a Bourbon Tempé Blackberry

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-55-4349040
universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-53-1904342

The Creature of the Night is a strong and potent drink with a light touch of citrus and berry. The woody flavor of gin invades this cocktail with subtle notes of orange and blackberry.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-44-5202123

The bourbon soaked blackberry was one of the few unique toppings, but unfortunately it was not very good and almost inedible. The drink, on the other hand, was one of our favorites.

universal-horror-icons-bar-hhn-30-swizzle-lounge-review-pt1-35-5944918

The Swizzle Lounge is open daily, but hours may vary. Unlike the Jack’d Up Experience, you don’t need to be a resort guest to visit the Horror Icons Bar. If you’re looking to add a little more iconic fun to the Halloween season, be sure to stop by Cabana Bay for the Horror Icons Bar while you get the chance.

For more information on Universal Studios around the world, follow Universal Parks News Today on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here